Skip permits: when you need one, the rules and what councils charge
In short: a skip on a public road needs the council's permission first. A skip wholly on private land, such as a drive, does not. In most areas the skip hire company gets the permit. Fees are set by each council and vary a lot: from £17 for up to 15 days in Sheffield to £205 for up to a month in Dundee, among the councils we checked. The skip must be lit at night, marked so traffic can see it, and show its owner's name and phone number or address.
When a skip needs a permit
You need a permit, sometimes called a skip licence, if you want to put a skip on a public road. GOV.UK says the same goes for hippobags and other skip bags. You don't need one if the skip is entirely on private land, such as your own drive.
The permit only covers putting the skip on the road. GOV.UK says you can't put a skip on the pavement in England and Wales. If the spot is a parking bay or a yellow line, many councils want a parking suspension or dispensation as well, at an extra cost. Westminster, Camden and Sheffield all say so.
Northern Ireland works differently. There, a skip may go on the carriageway of a road with a speed limit of 30 mph or less, or in a lay-by beside one, without asking first. You need the Department for Infrastructure's written consent to put it on a footway, cycle track, central reservation or verge, on a road with a higher speed limit, or anywhere vehicles may not wait. See Northern Ireland below.
The law in each nation
- England and Wales: section 139 of the Highways Act 1980 says a builder's skip shall not be put on a highway without the permission of the highway authority. That is your council, or your county council where there are two tiers. Section 140 lets the highway authority or a police officer in uniform make the owner move or remove a skip, even one with a permit.
- Scotland: section 85 of the Roads (Scotland) Act 1984 says a skip must not go on a road without the written permission of the roads authority, which is your council. Section 86 lets the police or the council move a skip and recover the cost from its owner.
- Northern Ireland: skips on roads come under Articles 96 and 97 of the Roads (Northern Ireland) Order 1993 and the Roads (Control of Builders' Skips) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 1981. Consent comes from DfI Roads, not your district council. You print the form, fill it in by hand and post it to your local DfI Roads office. The form asks where the skip will go and for how long, and the skip must be removed by the end of that period, or sooner if the police or the Department ask.
Who applies: you or the skip hire company?
Usually the skip hire company. GOV.UK says in most areas, skip hire companies are responsible for getting skip licences, though in some areas you have to apply yourself. Many councils only accept applications from skip companies:
- Leeds takes skip applications only from a registered skip company.
- Camden says individuals, residents and agents cannot apply.
- Suffolk issues licences only to a skip company, not a private person.
- Manchester also asks skip operators to register with it each year, for £175.
Councils often ask the skip company for proof of public liability insurance too: at least £5 million in Bristol, Devon and Wandsworth, and £10 million in Manchester, Islington and Lincolnshire.
The law puts the duties on the skip's owner. In England and Wales, where a skip is hired out for a month or more, or on hire purchase, the owner is the person who has the skip under that agreement. For a normal short hire, that means the skip company.
Apply in good time. Councils ask for notice: 5 days in Birmingham, 5 working days in Kent, 10 days in Devon (or pay the higher emergency fee) and at least 2 weeks in Cornwall.
How long a permit lasts, and extending it
There is no national rule. Each council sets its own period. Among the councils we checked:
- 7 days: Manchester, Liverpool, Birmingham and Kent.
- A week, charged week by week: most of the Scottish councils we checked, including Glasgow, Edinburgh, Fife and Highland.
- Two weeks or 15 days: Sheffield, North Yorkshire, Lincolnshire, Suffolk and Newport.
- 28 days or a month: Newcastle, Devon, Norfolk, Bristol, Cornwall, Westminster, Islington, Swansea and Gwynedd. Cardiff offers 7 or 28 days.
If the customer keeps the skip longer, the permit must be extended or a new one taken out before the old one ends. Councils handle this differently:
- Sheffield charges £17 to extend for up to another 15 days, and Lincolnshire £42 for each of up to two 14-day extensions.
- Cornwall charges £115 for a month's extension asked for before the licence ends, and £163 after.
- North Yorkshire gives no extensions: a skip there longer than two weeks needs another £91.42 licence.
- Edinburgh and Swansea want a new permit to extend. Swansea charges the full fee even if the skip is out for less than the 28 days.
- Wandsworth says a licence not renewed before it expires means paying for a new one.
Diary the end date of every permit. The skip has to come off the road, or be covered by a new permit, by then. In England and Wales the council can make one of the permit's conditions the removal of the skip at the end of the period of permission.
The conditions: lights, markings, size and placement
Lights at night
In England and Wales the owner must make sure the skip is properly lit during the hours of darkness. Councils spell out what they expect. Kent says from 30 minutes before sunset to 30 minutes after sunrise. Newcastle wants an amber lamp fixed to each corner. In Scotland the council's conditions may cover lighting, and Highland, for one, wants lamps on each corner at night. In Northern Ireland a skip needs a yellow lamp at each corner during the hours of darkness, and a skip on the carriageway also needs at least three traffic cones on the approach side.
Markings so traffic can see it
In England and Wales, the Builders' Skips (Markings) Regulations 1984 require two plates on each end of a skip that is on the road. They are red fluorescent and yellow reflective, with their top edge no more than 1.5 metres off the ground, and must be kept clean and clearly visible. GOV.UK's Scotland page says a skip's ends must be painted yellow to reflect headlights. Northern Ireland's rules also ask for yellow ends with a red and yellow reflective strip.
The owner's name and number
All four nations require the skip to be clearly and indelibly marked with its owner's name and phone number or address: England and Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.
Size and placement
- Size: in England and Wales the council's conditions may cover the skip's dimensions. Norfolk allows at most 5 metres by 2 metres, the same as Northern Ireland's limit. Some London boroughs are tighter: Camden allows skips over 8 cubic yards only in exceptional circumstances, and Wandsworth sets a 12 cubic yard maximum.
- Placement: in Scotland the skip must not block road or footpath users or drains, and not go on a verge. In Northern Ireland it must sit with its long sides parallel to the edge of the road, as close to it as is reasonably practicable, without blocking drainage, manholes or emergency access.
- Red routes: Wandsworth says it cannot issue skip licences for red routes.
Removing it when it's full
In England and Wales a skip must be removed as soon as practicable after it has been filled. In Northern Ireland it must go no later than two working days after it has been filled.
Fines and charges for getting it wrong
- England and Wales: putting a skip on the road without permission, or breaking the lighting, marking, removal or permit conditions, is an offence with a fine of up to level 3 on the standard scale, which is £1,000. So is failing to move a skip when the council or police tell you to. GOV.UK says that without the required lights and markings you could be fined up to £1,000. There is a defence if the offence was someone else's fault and you took all reasonable precautions and exercised all due diligence.
- London: in Greater London these offences have been replaced by penalty charges payable by the skip's owner to the highway authority.
- Scotland: using a skip on a road without permission, or against its conditions, is an offence. The maximum fine is level 3, which is £1,000. GOV.UK says you can be fined by the council and must move the skip. Councils can issue fixed penalty notices: Glasgow's charges list one of £142 for a skip without permission or not meeting its conditions, and Highland says it may give one to the skip hire company and their client.
- Wales: some councils add their own penalties. Cardiff enforces fixed penalty notices of up to £300 when skip companies break its terms and conditions.
- Northern Ireland: putting a skip where it is likely to be a danger to road users, or breaking the skip regulations, is an offence with a fine of up to level 3 on the standard scale. DfI Roads or a police officer in uniform can require a skip to be moved or removed, move it themselves and recover the cost from the owner. Failing to comply when told is an offence.
On top of any fine, councils can move the skip and send you the bill (England and Wales, Scotland). Many also charge their own fees when they find an unlicensed skip:
- Liverpool: a £200 fine plus the £44 permit fee.
- Birmingham: a retrospective permit at £238 a week.
- Bristol: a retrospective permit at £144 for every month without one.
- Kent: a £120 inspection fee plus a £45 retrospective permit.
- North Yorkshire: £196.80 for an unlicensed skip, and £69.83 for an inspection when the conditions aren't met.
- Devon: £269 for a site visit to an unlicensed or non-compliant skip.
What a skip permit costs: fees by council
We checked these fees on 19 October 2026, each on the council's own website. Fees change, often every April, so check the linked page before you quote a customer. "Not stated" means the page gives no period. Parking bay suspensions and yellow line dispensations, where needed, cost extra.
| Council | Nation | Permit fee | Period | Extension or notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Birmingham City Council | England | £42 | A week (up to 7 days) | New permit after 7 days; up to 4 weeks can be applied for |
| Bristol City Council | England | £90 | A calendar month | Apply again for longer |
| Cornwall Council | England | £115 | A calendar month | Extension £115 (£163 if late); emergency licence £163 |
| Devon County Council | England | £110.50 | Up to 28 days | 2026/27 fees: extension £87; under 10 days' notice £166 |
| Kent County Council | England | £45 | 7 days | 2026 to 2027 fee |
| Lincolnshire County Council | England | £84 | Up to 14 days | Renewal £42, up to two of 14 days each |
| Liverpool City Council | England | £44 a skip | Up to 7 days | New permit when it expires |
| Manchester City Council | England | £44 a permit | Up to 7 days | Skip operators also register yearly (£175) |
| Newcastle City Council | England | £40 | Up to 28 days | New application for longer |
| Norfolk County Council | England | £55.94 | 28 days | Renewal £55.94 for each further 28 days |
| North Yorkshire Council | England | £91.42 | Two weeks | No extensions; £35.56 extra if needed within 3 days |
| Nottingham City Council | England | £50 an application | Not stated | 2026/27 fee |
| Sheffield City Council | England | £17 | Up to 15 days | Extension £17 for up to 15 days |
| Suffolk County Council | England | £95 | Two weeks | Extension £47.50 for each two weeks |
| Camden Council | England (London) | £71.50 or £103.68 | Two weeks or four weeks | 2026/27 fees; bay suspension extra |
| Islington Council | England (London) | £127 | A calendar month | Covers a suspended bay or a single yellow line outside the property |
| Wandsworth Council | England (London) | £37.60 or £72.20 | Up to 14 days, or 28 days | 2026/27 fees, for a new licence or a renewal; bay suspension extra |
| Westminster City Council | England (London) | £91 (up to two skips) | 1 month | Parking suspension or yellow line dispensation extra |
| Cardiff Council | Wales | £44 or £88 a skip | 7 days, or 28 days | Skip companies register first; pay and display bays cost extra |
| Gwynedd Council | Wales | £74 | Up to 1 month | Renewal £74 |
| Newport City Council | Wales | £63.63 | 14 days | No extension fee stated |
| Swansea Council | Wales | £60 | 28 days | Up to 2 skips a permit; new permit for longer; full fee even for fewer days |
| Dundee City Council | Scotland | £70 a day, or £205 | A day, or up to one month | 2026/27 charges |
| City of Edinburgh Council | Scotland | £42 a week (up to 14 yard); £126 a week (20 or 40 yard) | A week | 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027; new permit to extend; 25% extra inside the notice period |
| Fife Council | Scotland | £26 a week | A week | Renew on the same application; pay and display bays may cost extra |
| Glasgow City Council | Scotland | £55 (city centre £92) | First week | 2026/27: each further week £36.75 (city centre £49), applied for with the first |
| The Highland Council | Scotland | £122 | First week | £61 for each further week |
| DfI Roads | Northern Ireland | No fee published | The period on the consent | Consent needed only off roads of 30 mph or less, or where vehicles may not wait |
Leeds City Council does not publish its skip permit fee on its licences page. It says the fee is charged once a licence is issued, and still stands if the licence is later cancelled or changed. Ask your skip hire company, or email the council as that page says.
How to find your own council's fee
- England and Wales: use GOV.UK's skip licence page. Enter the postcode where the skip will go and it takes you to that council. Some councils, such as Sheffield, take applications and extensions through GOV.UK. Most use their own online form or email.
- Scotland: use GOV.UK's skip permit page for Scotland to find your council. GOV.UK gives £22 a week as a guide, but says it may vary for different councils, and the Scottish councils in our table charge from £26 a week in Fife to £126 a week for a 20 or 40 yard skip in Edinburgh.
- Northern Ireland: use the nidirect form and post it to your local DfI Roads office. Neither the nidirect page nor DfI's form mentions a fee.
- Check the council page's date, or the year its fees table says it covers. Search the council's site for "skip licence", "skip permit" or "highways fees and charges" if the postcode tool doesn't land you on the right page.
Checklist for skip hire firms
- Ask every customer whether the skip will be on their own land or on the road. If it's the road, apply before delivery, with the notice the council asks for.
- Check whether the spot is a parking bay or yellow line. If it is, book the suspension or dispensation too.
- Make sure every skip carries your name and phone number or address, its markings are clean, and it has lamps for the night.
- Keep the permit number and end date with the hire. Extend it, or take the skip away, before it runs out.
- Lift a full skip as soon as you can.
Common questions
Do I need a permit for a skip?
Only if it goes on a public road. A skip entirely on private land, such as your own drive, does not need one. GOV.UK says hippobags and other skip bags on the road need one too, and that you can't put a skip on the pavement. In Northern Ireland a skip may go on a road with a speed limit of 30 mph or less, where vehicles may wait, without consent; anywhere else on a road needs DfI Roads' written consent.
Who gets the skip permit, me or the skip hire company?
Usually the skip hire company. GOV.UK says in most areas skip hire companies are responsible for getting skip licences, though in some areas you have to apply yourself. Many councils, including Leeds, Camden and Suffolk, only accept applications from a skip company.
How much does a skip permit cost?
It depends on the council. Among the councils we checked on 19 October 2026, fees ranged from £17 for up to 15 days in Sheffield to £205 for up to a month in Dundee. In Scotland most councils charge by the week: £26 a week in Fife, and £55 for the first week outside Glasgow city centre. GOV.UK gives £22 a week as a guide for Scotland but says it varies. Fees change, often every April, so check your council's own page.
How much is a skip permit in Leeds?
Leeds City Council does not publish the fee on its licences page. It takes skip applications only from registered skip companies and charges the fee once a licence is issued, so ask your skip hire company.
How long does a skip permit last?
Each council sets its own period. Among those we checked, Manchester, Liverpool, Birmingham and Kent issue permits for 7 days; Sheffield, North Yorkshire, Lincolnshire, Suffolk and Newport for two weeks or 15 days; and Newcastle, Devon, Norfolk, Bristol, Cornwall, Westminster, Islington, Swansea and Gwynedd for 28 days or a month. Most Scottish councils we checked charge week by week. Extend it, or take the skip away, before it runs out.
What is the fine for a skip without a permit?
In England, Wales and Scotland it is an offence with a maximum fine of level 3 on the standard scale, which is £1,000. In Greater London, penalty charges payable by the skip's owner replace the offence. Councils can also move the skip and recover the cost, and many charge their own fees or fixed penalties: a £200 fine plus the £44 permit fee in Liverpool, fixed penalty notices of up to £300 in Cardiff, and a £142 fixed penalty notice in Glasgow.
Does a skip on the road need lights at night?
Yes. In England and Wales the owner must make sure the skip is properly lit during the hours of darkness, and GOV.UK says you could be fined up to £1,000 without the required lights and markings. In Northern Ireland the rules ask for a yellow lamp at each corner during the hours of darkness. Councils set the detail: Kent says from 30 minutes before sunset to 30 minutes after sunrise.
Check the official guidance
This guide is based on these pages. Rules change, so check them for the latest position. Each council's fee page is linked from the table above.
- Skip licence (England and Wales) (GOV.UK)
- Skip permit (Scotland) (GOV.UK)
- Highways Act 1980, section 139: control of builders' skips (legislation.gov.uk)
- Highways Act 1980, section 140: removal of builders' skips (legislation.gov.uk)
- The Builders' Skips (Markings) Regulations 1984 (legislation.gov.uk)
- Sentencing Act 2020, section 122: the standard scale of fines (legislation.gov.uk)
- London Local Authorities and Transport for London Act 2013, section 9: builders' skips (legislation.gov.uk)
- Roads (Scotland) Act 1984, section 85: control of builders' skips on road (legislation.gov.uk)
- Roads (Scotland) Act 1984, section 86: removal of builders' skips (legislation.gov.uk)
- Roads (Scotland) Act 1984, schedule 8: penalties (legislation.gov.uk)
- Criminal Procedure (Scotland) Act 1995, section 225: the standard scale (legislation.gov.uk)
- The Roads (Control of Builders' Skips) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 1981 (legislation.gov.uk)
- The Roads (Northern Ireland) Order 1993, Article 96: control of builders' skips (legislation.gov.uk)
- Apply to put a builders skip on a road or street (nidirect)
- Application for consent to deposit a builders skip (DfI, nidirect)
- Builders skips RSPPG S034 (Department for Infrastructure)
How Tippa helps
With Tippa's Skip Hire add-on (£20 a month + VAT), each skip on hire keeps its road permits with it, so nobody has to remember when one runs out.
- Record each permit's council, number, dates and cost on the hire. Tippa suggests the council from the postcode.
- Extend a permit in a tap, and an exchanged skip carries its permits across to the new one.
- The dashboard flags a permit that has run out, is running out or was never granted.
- With the Invoicing add-on too, each permit's cost goes on the customer's invoice.
This guide is general information about UK rules for skips on roads, not legal or regulatory advice. You remain responsible for meeting the duties that apply to your business; check the official guidance above and your council's own conditions, and take professional advice where you need it.